Why Am I Writing EDM Songs?

Mat-Zo-Your-EDM

Ok hopefully you didn’t tune out immediately when you read the title, or if you didn’t and kept reading because you have no idea what EDM is, it is Electronic Dance Music.

First off, EDM is my guilty pleasure. I also have 7 kids and one staple our house, maybe even more than dinner, is dance parties. So just in my house that is 7 (8, counting my wife) mega-impressionable minds that are soaking up music and fun,

BUT most songs are morally neutral or a little to wrong side of what I want to sew into my kids’ minds. While there are some very good options out there I want to do all that can pastor them in everything. I don’t want it to stop there though. There is a generation that is speaking that language and need to have the gospel sewn into them as well.

I look at it like this: I’m a cook. I can cook the dishes I’m good at or I can push myself to get food in the mouths of a wider clientele.

Well I’m not a cook I’m a songwriter: I can write the songs that come naturally or I can push myself to learn more, stretch more to hopefully get more than just music into the ears of listening generation. I can get the Word of Life into their hearts and minds. If it takes me painstakingly figuring out how to make a kick drum patch stutter into a massive bass drop that makes your heart stop, and stack synth pads to create that perfect combination of hook and rhythm then the way I see it is that is my “spiritual act of worship”.

So why am I writing EDM songs? Why do people learn indigenous languages before they go to foreign countries? The gospel needs to be spoken and heard in all languages and styles.

1 Cor 9:19-23

19 Though I am free and belong to no one, I have made myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. 20 To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. 21 To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. 22 To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some. 23 I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.

This fad will live and then it will die and something else will follow it. When that comes along, I pray God gives me the chance to go “back to the kitchen” and whip up something then too.

Leave a Reply

