ADOPTION: Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)

Oceans Pic

Last night I was able to worship with Hillsong United at the conference that I had been at all week. This service was sort of the culmination of a long week of some really great speaking and times of worship.

 When the guys started into the intro to “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” I started to sing along and somewhere in the song my mind went back to my home, where nearly every night Glenna or myself sing that exact song. One particular room has our two three-year-olds, who are our soon to be officially adopted boy Monroe and our youngest biological son Jasper. Of course as parents we know their song requests are frequently a toddler version of stalling, but nonetheless they are sewing these words in their hearts.

 “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders

Let me walk upon the waters

Wherever You would call me

Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander

And my faith would be made stronger

In the presence of my Saviour

 

I will call upon Your name

Keep my eyes above the waves

My soul will rest in Your embrace

I am Yours, You are mine”

 

Right now many of those words are too large for them to understand, but their actions preach it.

Our story of adoption began with Jasper getting very sick. He spent 10 days in the NICU when he was only a month old. It was in that week that Glenna and I first heard God calling us to adopt through the story of a little boy that we heard the about everyday as the doctors would make their rounds.

While that little boy wasn’t the one that God had for our family, it pushed us to get certified. Then came the whole chapter of our lives with “baby A” for the hardest year of our lives in seeing the ugly side of foster-care system culminating in watching our baby girl get on a plane never to be seen again.

Then after some healing our home finally opened up to our two boys that will soon be Harding’s forever.

God built the road to bring the boys to us through the illness of Jasper. Now I nightly sing those pointed words of faith over two boys whose story preaches it. One bears the 6-inch scar across his gut that paved that road while across the room sleeps the brother who that brought to his forever home.

Reminds me of a brother that I have that bears the scars that brought me home.

It was special to get to share that story with guys that wrote that song last night. Every time I put a song out there I pray that God is paving roads, framing his heart, giving words to those who have none with what I feel Him leading me to write.

One thought on “ADOPTION: Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)

  1. Reminds me of a brother…
    How beautiful this story is, as only a story woven by our creator can be. Words fail me when I think of the beautiful story of the Harding family. ❤️

Leave a Reply

