Is it Just Me?

So this is a bit of a confession and partly one of those moments where you look around and kinda go, “Is it just me?”

This is a post to my other believers out there. I feel like in recent years I have slipped into an environment of assumption. I look back at what I would say are most of my daily conversations with other believers and they are rarely about spiritual things. I squarely am pointing the finger at myself because I am also typically the conversation starter (guilty)

I don’t think that spiritual conversations are ever intentionally avoided but more like assumed. If this is the environment then what can happen is that even among circles of believers it can turn into an unnatural conversation, which at that point we have completely lost the plot.

It’s very simple really. In our lives if we are super excited about the Texans game from Sunday then Monday it’s the first thing out of our mouth. If there’s a new song that I love, it is living on repeat and I’m telling everybody about it. If you are one of those people who understand what the heck is going on during a soccer game…sorry match, then right now is Christmas for you! You probably are all over blogs, checking injury reports, figuring out times when you are going to get together to watch USA give their best in the World Cup against Ghana (see I know stuff)

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with that. I have just found myself in my sphere assuming the spiritual and what it coming off as is “unimportant”. You can say what you want but if it’s the burning thing inside you, it will be the thing that comes out of your mouth. It will be the leading story at the dinner table. It won’t just be reserved for your weekly small group. It needs to be the first thing that your kids hear coming out of your mouth to your spouse. These statements are like knives to me.

I am not going to assume that those around me don’t need to hear what God is doing in my heart, and furthermore I just have to know what He’s doing in theirs.

So if you are in the same boat as me then perhaps be the catalyst. Share life, yes, but also share gospel.

1 Thessalonians 2:8

“So, being affectionately desirous of you, we were ready to share with you not only the gospel of God but also our selves, because you had become very dear to us”

Leave a comment