The Lens of HOPE

Image

“…and hope does not put us to shame…” Romans 5:5

We all have a slant, a view, a prejudice that we view everything through. It is that guiding principle that shapes our decisions and creates and tears down relationships, helps us navigate our jobs, probably is often what is in the background of the statement we’ve all used before “well that’s just me” with the implied follow-up unspoken phrase “so deal with it!”

It’s almost like we all have lenses that we look through that focus the world in a certain way. If you are follower of Christ then that lens is HOPE. I have been a Christian since I was 10 and I have lived a lot of my life seeing the world through that lens. As I’ve gotten older the clarity of focus that I have as I grow in my understanding of that HOPE has let me see some wonderful and also difficult things.

But if you are like me, sometimes I forget that I’ve been looking through that lens for a long time and that not everyone gets to see the world in that way. I don’t know if you have ever worn glasses. I do from time to time and my day always begins being very aware that there is something on my face, I see the rims, I can tell that my periphery is very blurry, but in just a few hours I have adjusted I don’t even notice I’m wearing glasses.
As we are walking through our days we need to ask God to help us remember what the world looked like before we had the hope that we have now. Help us to see those around us that are viewing life through the lenses of their pride, their selfishness, their addiction, their hurt so that we don’t miss out on what the HOPE of Christ is for. We must help them see that through the lens of HOPE their pride, their selfishness, their addiction, their hurts have a future that can look completely different.

 

 

Leave a Reply

