The Corridor: Tune by Tune – “Awesome God”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzqc3–CI4M

The second song on the new album: The Corridor is a remake of Rich Mullin’s song “Awesome God”. If there is one song that encapsulates my early love for music in church, it’s probably Awesome God. I remember Al Denson singing that for seriously 30 straight minutes at a Dawson McCallister conference in the 6th grade. 

My best friend Kyle has always been on me to do Awesome God but my problem has always been that I just can’t sing the line “When He’s rolling up his sleeves He ain’t putting on the ritz”. Just can’t do it. What I do love about the words is that it really lays out this wonderful systematic theology of the awesomeness of God, so in the remake of it I wanted to hold true to that spirit. I wanted to walk from The Creation to the Second Coming in one song, to highlight the story of God. Here’s the lyric:

He rolled out the heavens
He marked out the seas
and with His hands he told dry land
where its end would be 

He cast out the stars
upon heaven’s display
He hung up the sun
He hung up the moon 
breaking night from day

He stirred up the earth
breathed life into clay
He gave us a heart
sin broke it apart
but He made a way

Our God is an Awesome God
He reigns from heaven above
with wisdom power and love
Our God is an Awesome God

He gave us His son
He poured out his blood
He ransomed my life
when all of my works were not enough

Now I call Him Father
He calls me Son
my sin is defeated now
for He has overcome

Our God is an Awesome God
He reigns from heaven above
with wisdom power and love
Our God is an Awesome God

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelu

the prophets looked forward
the apostles looked back
Now we look beyond,
O Lord what you’ve done
You’re coming again
You’re coming again

Our God is an Awesome God
He reigns from heaven above
with wisdom power and love
Our God is an Awesome God

Leave a Reply

