The Corridor Tune by Tune: “List of Loss”

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/the-corridor/id652845505

I wanted to take the time to walk through our new album The Corridor tune by tune to really highlight some depth to each one of these songs. If you are like me I can listen through an album a 100 times and not be paying close enough attention to the meanings there, but if I have someone look me square in the eyes and say, “Hey man, this is what I’m saying!” then it takes on new life to me. That response is what my goal will be with these 7 blogs about the songs on the new album.

As a caveat I may start every one of these blogs this way, but I’ll go ahead and say it, this song may be my favorite on the album. Here’s the lyrics to List of Loss

Castles I have built without foundations
Melodies on hearts as cold as stone
Cloudless skies pour rain of all You’ve given me
With every step You are our cornerstone

Guilty hands from digging in 
A grave where we won’t lay
Your grace pours clean
and covers me, to wash it all away

You took my list of loss
You took the sin I’d lived in
When You could have counted it all 
On me…
________________________

This song began at the three word phrase that is the title of the song. Not exactly sure what I was reading or doing but that popped into my head “list of loss”. I started to think about what that book (ok volumes of books) would look like if I had to take an account of every wrong thing that I have done. That list for all of us would stretch it’s way around the world. We walk in that reality of Romans 7 in that we do many things we don’t want to do but still find ourselves caught up in the same old junk so often. Before grace, before we come in contact with Jesus it’s a mounting offense that as we go becomes a looming presence that we cannot escape. 

Looking at the lyrics of the verse:

Castles I have built without foundations: 
Everything about our world is telling us to build our kingdoms and build our stuff in our pursuit of that thing we can’t name, but without a solid foundation of Christ it is shaky at best

Melodies on hearts as cold as stone:

To the unrepentant heart and the blind eyes a lot of what we do in worship is completely wrapped inside a feeling. It’s wrapped inside what we can craft melodically that will make us happy and feel better, but without a change in us, it’s useless.

Cloudless skies pour rain of all You’ve given me
With every step You are our cornerstone

even in my shortcomings your grace sustains me.

The pre-chorus is my favorite part of the song (maybe of the album)

Guilty hands from digging in 
A grave where we won’t lay
Your grace pours clean
and covers me, to wash it all away

This image is crushing to me. I think about all that we do whether good or bad, selfish or compassionate, before Christ it is all still scoop after scoop us “digging our own grave”. Our works cannot stop that project, but only the saving work of Christ can. Grace arrives from Jesus and then our guilty hands have now been digging a grave and a judgement that we will not endure. Grace has transformed hopelessness to hope.

Romans 8:1 “Therefore now, there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus our Lord”

How wonderful that Paul follows Romans 7 with that turning point of Romans 8:1! 

You took my list of loss
You took the sin I’d lived in
When You could have counted it all 
On me…

Watch a video of “List of Loss”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7xXflYGvs1U&feature=youtu.be

Buy the new album “The Corridor” by Aric Harding and the Exchange on iTunes

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/the-corridor/id652845505

Leave a Reply

