7in7 Day 3 2012: “Sinners and the Saints of Old”

Ok so we’ve made it to Day 3 and this was another post midnight brainstorm (so technically Day 3)
I just had this line come into my head “I don’t dare love you with hands closed so tight. I’m a ghost, I’m a vapor, I know.
To me it just seemed like something that they’d sing in the tavern on like Lord of the Rings so I thought “crud where am I going to find a tavern full of hobbits at this hour” (without a some type of dimensional portal), so I had to do the next best thing which is do a one man gang vocal in my living room while everyone is sleeping. So I dropped my Blue mic in the middle of the room and just started layering the chorus over and over in different octaves and standing in different directions, throwing in some harmonies and a few mistakes along the way, and voila’ “gang vocal”
Then what is a good Irish sounding gang vocal without some out of tune violin in the background so I got out my violin that I haven’t played seriously since the age of 10 and threw that in the background. Well….that still wasn’t enough so I got out the kids music toy bin and made a good “mug slamming” sound or 10 with different tambourines, my keys, a jar of large acorns (don’t ask), claps, and a 9 iron. All said and done I felt like I’d created a place that didn’t sound like my living room or 2012 anymore which made me happy. The mix was rushed but it came out good enough for “rock and roll”

The finishing touch was that final refrain of the chorus sang by a child in true Irish fashion (where it’s a little erie) So I got Rylor to sing the last line, then Everett did it too so I may end up posting two endings  (bonus version) but the one here is my 8 year old Rylor.

All of that said and done the meaning of the song is just basically saying that God has taken our sin and created us new and when this is all over with we’ll be greeted by the open arms of our Savior and we’ll spend our days forever with all of those who have gone on before

Sinners and the Saints of Old

“I don’t dare love you
with hands closed so tight.
I’m a ghost, I’m a vapor, I know.
All my wrongs stand remitted
All my stains have gone white
Through the blood of my Savior I’m whole

I know you’ll greet me with arms open wide
where the sinners meet the saints of old

Here my heart is awakened
Oh my soul rings Your name
Let my hand meet Your hand on the plow

Every step as you guide me
till You ferry me home
Oh come my Lord, Come take us now

I know you’ll greet me with arms open wide
where the sinners meet the saints of old”

 

aric

Leave a Reply

