Day 2 of 7in7 2012: “Grow Cold”

Here’s today offering to the world of music. I was driving in this morning and shut the radio off after listening to the news for a minute (which I rarely do) but I shut it off and started to think about all of the things that I surround myself with to just make me happy. I lean on that stuff too much and if one thing gets out of place I can be such a baby. Not to mention that I woke up this morning with a ripping migraine headache so that weakens me always. ha. God has, as of late, been reminding me and my family that there is very little that matters outside of our dependence on him. My hands have loosened on the things that have been traps to us that aren’t necessarily bad but have taken our view from who God needs to be in our family. So the first line of the song “let my love grow cold, to things I once held dear”  just shoots straight from the heart of the Harding house. We are in a beautiful place of reliance on him and we don’t want to go back. So here’s my prayer for my family, “Grow Cold”

Let my love grow cold
for things I once held dear
things that I held near
in place of You

Let my spirit sing
a song, a melody

that paints a masterpiece
of love let loose

How high, how high, how high, how wide
is the love that rescued me

Let my lips recount
a past engulfed in doubt
cleared out by heaven’s sound
and born anew

Let my heart beat race
until I see Your face
and find my resting place
Lord with You

How high, how high, how high, how wide
is the love that rescued me

How high, how high, how high, how wide
is the love that rescued me”

 

aric

One thought on “Day 2 of 7in7 2012: “Grow Cold”

Leave a Reply

