7in7 Day 1: “Be Quiet”

I have to say that I’ve been looking forward to 7in7 again this year. Last year was my first experience with putting that type of deadline on creativity. It is grueling but it’s amazing if you just let the worry of what the rest of the world will think go and just write what will come out. This year several of my friends down here in Houston are doing it to. It’s nice to have people to walk through it with, but also I look forward to discovering new artists this year just like I did last year. If you want to follow it but aren’t a writer you can just go to twitter and search #7in7 and you’ll see everyone’s posts. Yes I realize that some of you guys just have a sick sense of humor and want to watch from the outside to observe. ha. Well that is what makes it public and fun.

My first song this year is a song called “Be Quiet”. Here’s the words:

“Wait, there’s wolves around our house
the doors and windows are open wide 
Wait, wait where you are
I’m coming out blazing, I’m coming and I’ll draw their fire

Don’t tire of our love, Don’t search the ground for reasons
Don’t tire of our love, Your heart will beat the reasons

So be quiet,
no you won’t lose your mind
no you won’t fall offline
Just carry my picture and it’ll carry you home

Say, scream out you love me
I’ll see your breath my love hangin upon the air
Say, no scream out my name
I’ll be there waiting, stay don’t you move, don’t you dare

Don’t tire of our love, Don’t search the ground for reasons
Don’t tire of our love, Your heart will beat the reasons

So be quiet,
no you won’t lose your mind
no you won’t fall offline
Just carry my picture and it’ll carry you home

People think subtle things measure up to anything
I’m leaving nothing behind
write your books, sing your songs, drain the pen, ramble on
what we have’s one of a kind

So be quiet,
no you won’t lose your mind
no you won’t fall offline
Just carry my picture and it’ll carry you home”

_____________________________

The meaning behind this song is really one of rescue. You quickly learn in marriage that you are going to spend your life rescuing each other. Lately it’s been my turn so this song is all about that. We’ve been having to work hard to find that “quiet” moment when God can really grab us. Life can be pretty quick and hectic and full of things you can’t control, but quiet lets us connect to the constant.

aric

Leave a Reply

