“The Distance”

It’s Saturday Night and I’m starting to wind down and thinking about what all we are going to be saying and singing to God in the morning.  It’s always a mix of anxiousness and joy when I lay  my head down on the pillow each Saturday.  Tomorrow we are beginning with a new song called “The Distance”.  It’s a song talking about the reach that God made from his perfection to our imperfection.  It’s a celebration of the fact that he sheltered us when we were thieves.

Here’s the lyrics:

There was a distance laid between you and me
My sin had a built a wall so I couldn’t see
You came in Your holiness
I felt the weight of Your righteousness
You reached across the distance past my defeat

You have been my hiding place
When I had been a thief
All my weakness clothed in grace
All encompassing

There was a distance locked between You and me
Jesus, You reached across upon Calvary
There’d be no happy ending
There’d be no great reward
Without King Jesus giving up everything

You have been my hiding place
When I had been a thief
All my weakness clothed in grace
All encompassing

Leave a Reply

