grammar makes me a jerk

So a couple of days ago I was at the Valero where I frequently pickup a Diet Coke on my way to work.  I came in as usual but upon a conversation by someone that I didn’t know with Kyle, the red-haired clerk, who is often got something benign to say.  The lady that was talking to him engages me when I come up to the counter and she says, “Aren’t we living in an historic day.  America has it’s first black president, the economy is changing the face of the American family, and the way that people are so connected through online communities is making the world such a smaller place.  I can only imagine what our children’s children will see in their lifetime.  I just know that all that we are doing right now is going to not only change our nation but the world as we know it.”  She then paused to take and breath and give me a chance to respond.  

So I looked her straight in the eyes and said, “the ‘h’ in historic isn’t silent” and then I walked back out to my car.
She just happened to land her little speech right on top of  a pet peeve and we all know which on of those wins everytime.  Soooooo, I guess Father forgive me for I have sinned.  And lady, if by some chance you get to read this, sorry about that.  It certainly is  A  Historic Day.

5 thoughts on “grammar makes me a jerk

  1. susan and I looked this up during the elections a while back.

    “an historic event” – correct
    “a historic day” – correct
    “an historic day” – total fail

    you did the right thing.

    and don’t lie, we all know that “frequently” really means “daily” in this situation.

Leave a Reply

