I’m contemplating “Being Heroic”

I can’t put my finger on exactly what prompted this whole thought in my head to begin with.  I think it was a combination of different little events.  I passed someone with a blowout on my way to a meeting.  I second-guessed a conversation.  It’s just little stuff.  
Either way, this is what’s on my heart.  I’ve been up tonite just thinking about my job, my family, my ministry, my friends, my music, my relationships, my conversations… you get the picture, and I started to feel regrets.  I’ve honestly never been a big regret person.  I just think that somewhere in the past couple of weeks, months or maybe years I stopped being a hero.  Don’t read too much into that exact word but catch the heart of what I’m trying to say.  I think I stopped making the most of every opportunity.  Life has become a checklist on most days and those days suck.  There’s a lot of things in life that don’t run on a checklist: love, the smile of my kids, a new song, picking up flowers for my wife on the way home, backrubs, prayer, fasting, honesty, being a good neighbor, taking great pictures.   This could literally go on and on, but I think you get the idea.  A hero is the guy who lives without a check list.  Heros seem to play to the need and follow their heart, they combat evil.  I have been stuck on this part of Amos 5 for over a month now.  I’ve been digging into it and mulling it over.  It says, “hate evil, love good, and establish justice in the gate.”  The more I’ve actually looked into this “gate” business it is talking about a place where the poor came to settle disputes.  What was happening is that justice was being bought instead of dealt and the poor were being wronged.
I still catch that the same way that I did when I first read it.  I feel like it is a great mantra of sorts from God.  “Hate Evil, Love Good” (most of us pretty much try to live that already. That seems to be central to our faith)
“establish justice in the gate” that just has resonated with me.  It is Christianity apart from the list, apart from the perfect plan.  It’s the Christianity that is heroic, that shakes it up a little.  God make me a hero tomorrow even if it’s just a small one.  I think it’s what you want.

Leave a Reply

