community of ridicule

I was reading in 1 Peter tonight before I’m headed to bed and I was in verse 22 of the first chapter and it reads, “Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for your brothers, love one another deeply, from the heart.  For you have been born again, not of perishable seed but of imperishable seed through the living and enduring word of God.”
That is an incredible passage.  I don’t know if you are like me but I feel like I’ve heard some scripture so much that I’ve stopped listening to the words like an old song I’ve known forever.  Tonight I really felt that hit me hard.  I’ve noticed something in our Christian circles that has probably been something that I’ve been bothered by but I haven’t completely been willing to admit it since I’m guilty myself also sometimes, but there is this slant on community building that is honestly completely ungodly.  It’s an obvious fact that community is built by finding common ground with somebody, it just creates ties that help us relate etc. and also if you have watched 10 seconds of TV in the past several years you know that our entire society is fascinated with personal collapse. Put those two things together like PB&J and you get what I’ve seen more in the church than maybe anywhere else, this community of ridicule.  
We find common ground by pointing out everything wrong about something or someone, and most of the time it has nothing to do with God or the church, but sometimes it is our own fellow believers, and it becomes our rallying point to just lash out.  In the back of all of our minds it probably seems harmless, but it just wears out the soul.  
I think I’m ready to just love from the heart sincerely like the passage says.  I think God is waiting to use us when we approach each other and the lost like that. 
That’s my spiritual warpath for today that hopefully changes the tomorrow.  

6 thoughts on “community of ridicule

  1. i think it goes hand in hand with the sarcastic humor that in our culture goes hand in hand with many close friendships. its weird. like how i just corrected someone’s grammar in a post, as a joke. they know its a joke, but still, i could have taken an extra split second to find something legitimate and encouraging to say but i didn’t because that kind of stuff just rolls off the tongue.

  2. I love this post soooo much! Such a good post!

    Proverbs 18:21 “The tongue can bring death or life;
    those who love to talk will reap the consequences.”

    When I read the passage in 1 Peter a while back and then this verse, it hit me hard. I almost didnt want to talk for a few days…hah… seriously. Even the passage in James 3 is soo gnarley.

    I truely believe conversation is one of the biggest playgrounds for satan.

    See you soon man!
    aloha

  3. Truth of God and truth of the world. It’s not just a struggle at the church for me, but life in general. I have come to find that no matter location it’s a trap set everywhere. It’s easy for us to attack others instead of look at ourselves and want to fix it. Besides who wants to be known as part of the problem?

    I have faith in this post. I pray constantly for this within our church and wherever we may go. Thanks for the refocus on what’s important. I think I shall make this my lesson for today.

  4. Andrew’s comment is so very true.
    Because of our sinful nature, such things as sarcasm and negative comments are so easy to come out of our mouths. But we are Christians we are called to be much more than this. It is very hard and it is a battle but we most fight it every day. Because at the end of every day whether you lash out or up lift you represent Christ(good or bad).

    Our uplifting has definitely had a major down falling.

Leave a Reply

