Currents

You know how sometimes you hear a song a million times and it never really hits you. You may think, “oh that was cool” and even sing the words along with the song for forever and then one day you actually hear the words and it just shakes you to the core. Well that happened to me tonite. I was driving home and I pulled out my iPod and started to just thumb through some of the songs and an album called Ghosts by a band called Sleeping at Last came by and I just arbitrarily put on track 2 called Currents. These guys are a just a rock band not some type of prophet or worship leader or anything, but this song just struck a chord with me. Things have been so crazy lately and I’ve had my faith stretched and I’m still continuing to walk through difficulty. If you are on the outside looking in you may be confused, and rightly so. I was going to write a blog last week about how I really feel like I’m in a time of peace. I still feel that way. My life is so incredibly blessed that I’m a little scared to even admit it. This song, for me, spoke to another part of me, the part that is longing to create and be inspired. I’ve gotten so busy with the week to week that the part of me that really lights up has gotten neglected.
ie. I was in my living room earlier this afternoon and with the inclement temperatures I decided that I would fire up our fireplace for the first time since we’ve moved into our house. I could find the gas valve to turn on the gas, but I had no idea where it came out. The gas holes were buried in piles of sand and soot. I had to reach in and clear it all out, clean it so that I could light the fire. I feel like lately I’ve just been piling sand and soot on my burners. This song was an anthem to my heart tonite that I needed to hear. So without any further adieu check this stuff out. (if you want to buy it on iTunes just search Sleeping at Last) peace…

“In this sea of change, understanding is our shore
I disappear….with no control
The current is strong, my arms are weak
But you are the branch within my reach
Though I cannot catch my breath….

Pull me back to shore
I’ll never reach my place
Pull me back to shore
I’ll never reach my place, I’ll never reach my place

The current is strong, my arms are weak
But you are the branch within my reach
In this sea of change, understanding was swept away

Pull me back to shore
I’ll never reach my place, I’ll never reach my place
Pull me back to shore
I’ll never reach my place, I’ll never reach my place

With everything I have, I reach out my hands
There’s nothing to give
I seem to have no direction, I have no control
No way to know where currents pull
All the weight of my intentions
Are making it so hard to breathe the air at all
I see in you, coastlines reaching out
When there’s nothing left to reach….

Pull me back to shore
I’ll never reach my place, I’ll never reach my place
Pull me back to shore
I’ll never reach my place, I’ll never reach my place”

aric

7 thoughts on “Currents

  1. you know aric, i am sure a million people told you this yesterday.. but worship rocked. we were still talking about it last nite. that was probably the most intense worship experience i have ever experienced. i think God got your invitation to join us that day. 🙂

  2. Nice blog. I feel ya on this one, we been week to week since may. My favorite line from the song is:

    “In this sea of change, understanding was swept away”

    I don’t know how to describe a more accurate picture of the way things have been than that line.

  3. The line that spoke to me the most was “all the weight of my intentions are making it so hard to breathe the air at all.”

    despite the fact that i’m going to a creative school for acting, i STILL feel that way. Especially recently in light of finals coming up. I get so caught up in just the technical aspects of acting and we are so busy learning techniques, i feel as though i’m not creating anything at all.

    Thanks for posting this blog and reminding me to nourish my soul every now and then.

    I miss you Aric, I hope everything is well. I was up at the church last wednesday but you weren’t there and I wasn’t able to make it to sunday service cause of my flight. Hopefully I’ll see you over Christmas break sometime.

Leave a Reply

